[E-Book] ✓ Free Read È Flesh Wounds : by Mick Cochrane ë

Flesh Wounds By Mick Cochrane,

  • Title: Flesh Wounds
  • Author: Mick Cochrane
  • ISBN: 9780385486613
  • Page: 413
  • Format: Paperback
  • Flesh Wounds is an achingly real, deeply felt first novel in the tradition of Anne Tyler and Ordinary People a novel that shows us an American family with such startling clarity and compassion that we are completely drawn into their world.When the police come to arrest Hal Lamm, a Minneapolis salesman, for abusing his 13 year old granddaughter Becky, his entire family musFlesh Wounds is an achingly real, deeply felt first novel in the tradition of Anne Tyler and Ordinary People a novel that shows us an American family with such startling clarity and compassion that we are completely drawn into their world.When the police come to arrest Hal Lamm, a Minneapolis salesman, for abusing his 13 year old granddaughter Becky, his entire family must come to terms with its secrets and unhealed wounds Hal s wife Phyllis, after decades of denial and emotional estrangement, finally confronts him Of their four grown up children, Ellie, herself once abused by Hal, had sought to find strength by moving away, and now discovers it back in the midst of her family Cal, the youngest son, is a lawyer whose instinct is to defend Hal until he becomes a father himself Most poignantly of all, Becky, unconsoled by the parties and gifts her parents give her, and suspicious of the psychiatrist she is now required to see, keeps her rage hidden and nearly tears herself apart.Flesh Wounds is a novel that grips us and does not let go until its genuinely uplifting climax of hard earned reconciliation Mick Cochrane, a writer who makes the ordinary seem extraordinary and can find unexpected moments of grace amid the everyday, has created characters so real we feel we know them and scenes that shake us with their dramatic intensity Already winning the plaudits of excited early readers, Flesh Wounds is that all too rare novel that goes straight to the heart.
    Flesh Wounds Flesh Wounds is an achingly real deeply felt first novel in the tradition of Anne Tyler and Ordinary People a novel that shows us an American family with such startling clarity and compassion that we

    One thought on “Flesh Wounds”

    1. A carefully delivered story and character study centered on Hal Lamm, a salesman, homebody, and, seemingly regular guy , comfortable in his EZ chair watching the football game until the police arrive and arrest him for abusing his thirteen year old grandchild There are other victims His immediate family and the community Cochrane examines Lamm s crime from various angles Words like unsparing and disciplined have been used to describe this book I would add intriguing and bracing I have both admir [...]

    2. Interesting how the book begins with the person causing the sexual abuse and then becomes about the members of his family Amazing how little Hal really cared about what he had done to his victims and his family his thinking was all about him and the inconvenience it caused in his life Wife Phyllis was a person I could not respect even though she grew and changed by the end of the book.

    3. It s hard to explain why this book is a meh It s pretty predictable and feels like many pieces of other books Its use of metaphor is so heavy handed it s a little embarassing cleanse, fire, cleanse At the same time, the plot is interesting and the characters are mostly believable I would recommend it for my students who like books in the A Child Called It vein

    4. A very good story of how an extended family reacts when incest comes into the open Filled with secrets, lies, fear, devastation, lack of communication, distance between characters, hopelessness and, eventually for a few, love and hope.

    5. This book took me a bit of struggling to read It started out very good and I was starting to get pretty into it and then just dumped lost my interest and I just stopped caring about the characters.

    6. Unlike most books about abuse, Flesh Wounds tells the story of how a whole family is effected The biggest struggle I had with the book is that it glossed over the victim But maybe that is how it is in real life.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *